Breakfast of the Rest of Us

Remember the commercials for all those fun kids breakfast items? “Part of a complete breakfast.” Of course, the cereal, or waffles, or whatever was being advertised was always shown with fruit, eggs, milk, juice, etc. to actually be a balanced and complete breakfast.

I’ve never been good at eating breakfast. I’m usually not very hungry in the morning, and I prefer to sleep an extra 10 minutes than make and eat breakfast at home. A couple of years ago I worked with a health coach (also a close friend) in preparation for my wedding. I found that by adding in breakfast I had more energy and stamina, got fewer headaches, and felt better overall. My goal at the time wasn’t to lose weight, but I was training for my first 5k and I found that adding breakfast made exercising much easier on my body.

In the two years since my wedding, eating breakfast has continued to be a struggle. I get to work as early as 7AM most days, so in order to eat breakfast not only do I need to remember to pack breakfast for myself, I need to actually remember to eat it once I’m in my groove at work. The easier the breakfast, the likelier I am ti actually follow through!

In the winters, I am a big fan of oatmeal (those recipes to come later… like 6 or 7 months from now, when Arizona gets colder again), but I can’t stomach it in the warmer months. So what could I eat that’s quick, easy, and packed with nutrients to get my day started?

Muffins!

I love breakfast pastries. Someone brings donuts to the office? I’ll have three, thanks! I love croissants, danishes, whatever sweet treat is available. Obviously, shooting yourself up with sugar is not exactly the best breakfast plan, either, so I came up with a recipe for a sweet, delicious, AND nutritious breakfast treat.

This may not be the “breakfast of champions”, but this “breakfast of the rest of us” is packed with nutrients. Both bananas and avocados provide plenty of potassium, fiber, vitamin B6, and vitamin C. Avocados are a veritable superfood, filled with omega-3 fatty acids, pantothenic acid (vitamin B5), vitamin K, and folate (amongst many more nutrients). Flax seeds add even more protein, fiber, and omega-3 fatty acids, and apples enhance the vitamin C content. The walnuts add their own power punch of protein, fiber, and magnesium. I also like to add a scoop of hemp protein (this is my favorite) to boost the protein levels.

All the ingredients in these muffins, other than the small amount of honey, are low or very low on the glycemic index, so eating one or two of these won’t spike your blood sugar. I guarantee this will fill you up and satisfy your morning sweet tooth!

Enjoy!


Power Breakfast Muffins (yields 12-15 muffins)
IMG_4611

Ingredients:
2 C whole wheat flour
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 C honey (raw/organic is preferable)
1/2 C applesauce
3 very ripe bananas
1-2 ripe avocado(s)
2 eggs, beaten -OR- flax or chia eggs (recipe here)
1/4 C water
1 C chopped walnuts
1/3 C freshly ground flax seed meal
1/4 C rolled oats (for topping)
cooking spray or oil (to coat muffin tin)
OPTIONAL: One scoop of hemp or other natural protein powder
 PicMonkey Collage2
Tools/Utensils:
Large mixing bowl
Smaller bowl
Masher or immersion blender
Spoon/spatula
Muffins tin(s)
Measuring cups & spoons
Instructions:
Heat oven to 350F.
Combine the flours, salt, and baking soda. Set aside.
In a separate bowl, mash the bananas and avocado – I like to use my immersion blender to get things really smooth, especially if the fruit isn’t super ripe.
PicMonkey Collage
Stir in the eggs (or chia/flax eggs), water, sugar, nuts, flax, and protein powder. Add the dry ingredients slowly and stir until combined. Check for powder lumps, but no need to over-stir.
IMG_4609
Prep the muffin tins with cooking spray or oil. I just dab a towel or paper towel in some olive oil and coat the insides of the muffin tin (sides and bottom). Pour batter into muffin tins, then sprinkle rolled oats on top.
IMG_4610
Bake at 350 for 20-25  minutes or until toothpick inserted comes out clean. Wait for muffins to cool, then remove from tins. I store these in tupperware in the fridge for optimal freshness.

**Recommended: To reheat I highly recommend toasting these up in a toaster oven. Yum!

IMG_3628


Leave a comment